Irene Hansen Appointed to Fill Open Duchesne County Commission Seat

The results are in and Irene Hansen has been selected by the Duchesne County Republican Party to fill the open Commission C seat. The selection committee met Thursday and the final vote was 52 percent for Irene Hansen and 46 percent Rod Harrison. The list of individuals that submitted letters of interest for the position included the following names: Rod Harrison, Kent Petross, Mark Murray, Kent Olsen, Patricia Barton, Todd Anfinson, Gordon Snow, Luke Stradinger, Jerry Nelson, Wayne Robb, Irene Hansen, Paul Spencer, and Mondi Taylor. In early January, Duchesne County Commissioner Ronald Winterton announced his resignation after he was advised by the Senate Legal Council to do so as he now represents District 26 in the Utah Senate. Irene Hansen is well prepared for this position, currently serving as the Duchesne County Economic Development Director and the Director of the Duchesne County Chamber of Commerce.


Kristin Baldwin

Kristin never planned to work in news radio but has thoroughly enjoyed being part of the news team at KVEL. Her love of literature and writing developed in high school which led her to study English Literature and Technical Writing at BYU. She received her BA in English from BYU in 2005 and studied at UVU in Orem for 2 semesters to become a Certified Technical Writer in 2006. Two months after completion she began her dream job of being a stay-at-home mom.  As mother of 2 energetic kids, she began writing from home for the KVEL news team in 2011 and considers it the perfect fit as a full time mom and part time writer.