County Election Results

With election results in, Basin counties have few surprises. Uintah County was the only county with a Commissioner race. As the Republican candidate, Brad Horrocks secured 79.15 percent of the popular vote over Stephen Borton with 20.85 percent. “I am fully committed to honor my pledge to adhere to a conservative budget,” shared Horrocks following the announcement of results. “I believe our economic future is bright and together we will move beyond these challenging times.” Borton thanked the over two thousand citizens who voted for him and expressed appreciation for Brad saying he ran a “clean election effort.” Borton also said he plans to save his signs to try again in a few years! Duchesne County had only single candidates on the ballot with Ron Winterton continuing in Commission Seat C.  The Daggett County Clerk/Treasurer race went to Republican Brian Raymond with 60.09 percent of the vote over Democratic candidate Sheila Ann Williams with 39.91 percent. Randall Asay was uncontested for Daggett County Commissioner C.


Kristin Baldwin

Kristin never planned to work in news radio but has thoroughly enjoyed being part of the news team at KVEL. Her love of literature and writing developed in high school which led her to study English Literature and Technical Writing at BYU. She received her BA in English from BYU in 2005 and studied at UVU in Orem for 2 semesters to become a Certified Technical Writer in 2006. Two months after completion she began her dream job of being a stay-at-home mom.  As mother of 2 energetic kids, she began writing from home for the KVEL news team in 2011 and considers it the perfect fit as a full time mom and part time writer.