Ute Tribe Among Five Tribes Named To Bear Ears Commission

The Ute Indian Tribe is one of five Tribes named to the Bear Ears Commission. A signing ceremony was held Saturday with the BLM, U.S. Forest Service, and the five Tribes, which include the Hope Tribe, Navajo Nation, Ute Mountain Ute Tribe, Pueblo of Zuni, and Ute Indian Tribe of the Uintah and Ouray Reservation. The Bears Ears Commission was re-constituted after President Biden issued a proclamation in 2021 which restored Bears Ears National Monument. The BLM and Forest Service will manage the monument and will include the Tribes in preparing a federal lands management plan for the Monument. 


Be the first to comment

Prove you are human. Answer the following question: